I know it has been a while since I have posted a blog post and I want to thank all of you who have reached out asking for more. I have simply been busy putting some things in place to help artists of all types of music.  But as I get ready to turn in my chart for this month I couldn’t help but share my thoughts for today.

 

Why is it that we feel the need to promote songs that are not worthy of a high charting position? This is not neccesarily targeted toward this reporting cycle but through out the year of promoting songs in general.  Since when did our charts become a reward for great begging instead of great music?

 

For some reason, we think that just because a song made it into the Top 5 that they are deserving of a #1 charting position when the truth is that song shouldn’t be as high as it is now.  I understand the cycle and I see that we will have at times some weaker songs making their way to the top of the chart.  But I, as a Tier 1 charting station can not and will not put songs on my chart that are weak.  I don’t care how much you call and beg me!

 

The charting system was never put in place so Program Directors could give out “favors” and “help” artist push their songs to the top.  And then we hear all types of reasons why this group or that group deserves to be in the top spot.  Excuse me but I thought the chart was based on the song and not the group.  There should NEVER be an instance where a group deserves the top spot or any spot for that matter.

 

I hate to think, gone are the days when charting stations put songs on their charts based on the quality and message of the song.  Are we to the point now where we are just using our charts as our ticket to what we want on the side?  Are we now using our charts to get us more dates on bigger concerts? Are we using our charts to help our own songs get pushed by offering spots to other artists for the same in return?  Have we as “Christian” artists stoopped to the level of cheating and scheming for our own personal gain?

 

Come on ya’ll. I would expect this type of backend cheating from other genres but we are supposed to be a Christian market.  We are supposed to be trying to do the right thing before men and before God.  If you are simply filling out your charts based on favors and bullying then your chart is not a representation of what you are playing.  I have personally not taken any phone calls this reporting cycle because I knew I would be putting out this post.  I didn’t want someone to feel that I was targeting this post toward anyone in particular.  All of us could call out names for sure but that is not what this post is about.  This is written in hopes of making our industry and radio BETTER!

 

I have already lost friends in this industry due to my posts and I have already had people attack me online due to my openness (and the fact I won’t play their music) well… so be it.  It’s time we raise the standard in our industry and start rewarding the groups and the songwriters who actually put out great songs with our 20 charting positions.   Why do we as radio charting stations have to take phone calls and emails from people who are begging, coniving and giving us emtpy promises for a spot on our charts?

 

The promotion of your song begins the moment you pick it.  The moment you carry it into the studio to record it. The moment you mix it for radio.  Stop sending just anything to us and then using your charm to try and get your songs much higher than they ever should have been.  Please help us as radio charting stations and fans of this industry by putting all of your efforts and energy into producing great songs instead of using it all up in promoting weak songs.

 

 

One thought on “The Week for Weak Songs

  1. I, for one, would like for songs to be rated based on their own merit and content rather than on who recorded them. Maybe there’s a “one hit wonder” group out there that is overlooked because they are not a ‘named’ group. If Program Directors did NOT take calls from promoters it might also make songs stand on their own. Consider this: maybe someone other than the Program Director should receive all song submissions and pass the song on with the name of the song, only (without the name of the artist or promoter) at least for the first “run-through” on a song. Make your decision based on hearing the song without all the ‘baggage’ of knowing the artist or the promoter. This would reduce the bias that occurs either positively or negatively because of knowing the artist and/or promoter.

    Like

Comments are closed.