For those artists who may not know, there is a “no call” list that is used to keep over anxious artists from calling radio stations.  The moment we as charting stations commit to giving of our time and resources to assist the charting procedures we are able to fill out thus said list and how we prefer to be contacted by artists and radio promoters.

 

When I made the decision to be a charting station for the Singing News magazine, I did so with the goal and understanding that I could help make a difference and help our industry grow.  I came on board with the conviction that if a station was going to be a Tier 1 reporting station then they should be required to take tracking calls from record labels and radio promoters.

 

My theory behind the conviction solely relies on the power you have with the point system of your charting positions.  If you can make or break a song into the Top 10 with your monthly chart then you should be willing to set up some type of schedule in which you talk with those who are promoting their songs.

 

While talking about this conviction I have as a Tier 1 station, I have one artist is testing my nerves on the matter. This artist is showing me EVERYDAY why Program Directors choose to opt out on taking radio calls.  This jack rabbit and his forceful way of trying to get his music played is not only turning stations off from radio promotions as a whole but he is about to get banned from calling my station… period!

With that said.  He is not the majority.  There are many options when it comes to taking radio calls and as a Program Director who fills out your own chart, you have the pleasure of setting up whatever schedule works for you.

 

One might only take calls on Tuesday from 9-11am and whoever calls get through to you.  Other radio stations only take calls from record labels and radio promoters who are professional in their approach and not calling to “beg for help”.   I think I need to write an upcoming article on how to call radio stations.  If there was just someone who could offer some training on how to properly call and execute a plan on getting your music heard, played and possibly charted.  Oh, wait… I do that!

 

The bottom line is this.. learn how to call radio stations before you pick up the phone to call radio stations.  And for those Tier 1 and even Tier 2 stations, please consider taking calls based on your schedule and personal preferences for the sake of keeping our charts on the right path of reporting.  You can learn so much from these record labels who work with radio.  I mean you expect them to answer you call when you want “FREE” product to giveaway.  I just believe the same courtesy should apply to helping them do their job.

 

And for the artist that keeps calling my station and leaving me messages. If I wanted to talk to you I would take the call.  And since I am not answering my phone then evidentially I don’t have time to explain to you why I don’t play your music.  Even when you leave messages with my superiors saying that I won’t return your calls… I DON’T HAVE TO RETURN YOU CALLS.  You are nothing more than a telemarketer who is pushing Southern Gospel music.

Oh and for the record, when I let my managers hear your music they understood fully why I don’t take your calls.